National Quality Standards

In 2012 the Federal Government implemented the National Quality Standards (NQS), which set a national benchmark for early childhood education and care. By understanding the quality of a service, families can make a better informed decision in the education and care of their child.

The NQS brings together the 7 key quality areas that are important to outcomes for children.

  1. Educational program and practice
  2. Children’s health and safety
  3. Physical environment
  4. Staffing arrangements
  5. Relationships with children
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  7. Leadership and service management

Services are assessed and rated by their regulatory authority against the NQS, and given a rating for each of the 7 quality areas and an overall rating based on these results.

In 2016, Brompton Children’s Centre Inc. was assessed as part of the NQS. We received a rating of ‘exceeding NQS’ in areas 6 and 7, and ‘meeting NQS’ in all other areas. This gave us an overall rating of ‘meeting NQS’.

Find out more about the NQS here.

Start typing and press Enter to search